MABLEDON
TUNBRIDGE WELLS
A FAMILY EVENT EXPLORING
ALL THAT IS AVAILABLE FOR
​A ​HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

Venue History

Health and wellbeing  were the foundation on which the Spa town of Royal Tunbridge Wells  was built, so it seems fitting that Mabledon, the beautiful Georgian home of its founding architect Decimus Burton, should be the setting of this amazing experience. 

​Mabledon was built mainly of Tunbridge Wells sandstone in 1805 and extended in the same materials in 1829-31 and 1870. Mabledon Park and farms originally extended to some 500 acres.
In 1769 (Andrews, Drury and Herbert map of Kent), the site is called Quorry (Quarry) Hill. There were two undefined dwellings near the site of the house. They are not named, nor are their owners, so were probably not substantial houses.
The main part of the present house was built by James Burton in 1804. He was a major developer and builder of the period. Mabledon is recorded in Amsinck's Publication dated 1810.

The picture in the 1807 Engraving by G.Cooke based on a drawing of JC Smith for "Beauties of England and Wales" shows the lawns on the south and east fronts going up to the house, in the style of 18th century English parklands. It can be assumed that the parkland remained this way until the house was extended by Decimus Burton in 1829-31.
James Burton's tenth child Decimus became a well-known 19th Century architect and was brought up in the house. James sold the house in 1828 to John Deacon (of Deacon's Bank in London).

In 1829 Deacon commissioned Decimus Burton to design a new wing for Mabledon. A further wing was added in 1870. There were a number of ranges of agricultural and estate buildings, north of the house, at differing periods.

​Mabledon is currently a private residence and an event venue.

Event Partners